News Post

Holy Cross High School Hosts 48th Annual Commencement Exercises

The students of Holy Cross High School's Class of 2019 were celebrated at the 48th Annual Commencement Exercises on Sunday, June 2, 2019. Diplomas and special awards were distributed to the graduates.

Following a rousing rendition of the National Anthem by faculty member, Jeffrey Castaldi '72, Board Members, administrators and students shared speeches and words of advice to the school community.

In his passionate Commencement Speech, Kyle Moser '19 described Holy Cross as a place built on community, tradition and family. "In times of happiness and sadness, the sense of community that flows through these halls empowered all of us to keep going and moving forward," he said. "We learned that in order for Holy Cross to function properly, we each had to have mutual respect and gratitude toward each other, knowing that nothing that any of could accomplish could be done without the help of one another...It is no coincidence that our class will be graduating on the 50th Anniversary year of this great institution. This class truly encompasses what it means to be Crusaders in the classroom, on the field, on stage, and most importantly, in the Greater Waterbury area. I believe we have helped propel Holy Cross for another fifty years of educating the hearts and minds of its students."

"Today marks an important passage for you in mind, body and spirit," said Paul G. Geise, President. "You are this year's constellations of rising stars and scholars at Holy Cross. You have been and are great Green and Gold champions. Your respective odysseys are reaching maturity upon graduation. Congratulations on your passage to collegiate life and into adulthood. As you continue making your mark on the world and the world making its mark on you, I pray you always seek the best in others. I pray you always strive to be exemplary for others, and I pray you sustain your gaze upwards."

"You are the class of students that made me want to be the next President," said Dr. Thomas C. Pellegrino, Incoming President. "You are just about to leave. I am just about to arrive."

Dr. Pellegrino continued to make promises to the graduates and families of the Class of 2019 as a way of thanking them. "First, I promise to welcome each and every new class of students the same way you welcomed me with warmth, energy and attentiveness. Second, I promise along with the incredible teachers and staff to support, encourage and challenge students in all the ways that you were. Third, I promise along with the Board of Directors and the Congregation of Holy Cross to take care of your home. Last, I promise to be at that front door along with all of my colleagues to welcome you all back for many years to come."

"I wish you all the very best in the future," said Kevin McSherry '75, Holy Cross High School Board Chair. "On behalf of the Board of Director, we wish you great congratulations."

Dr. Pellegrino and Mr. Geise were joined by Michael Giampetruzzi '95, Vice President for Student Life and Andrea Rodriguez, Vice President for Academics, in the conferring of diplomas and awards. Catherine Xeller, Director of Guidance, led the presentation of the graduates. Several students were honored during the ceremony including:

  • William Greene '19 and Natasha Angel '19 received the Valedictorian and Salutatorian Award for maintaining the highest and second-highest grade point average, respectively.
  • Marie Allysa Cayabyab '19 was the recipient of The Sister Margaret Bannon, CND Service Award, presented annually to the senior girl who has demonstrated outstanding service to the school community.
  • Kyle Moser '19 was the recipient of The Holy Cross Fathers' Club Award, given each year to the senior boy who has demonstrated the most service to the school community.
  • Andre Stevenson '19 was the recipient of The Holy Cross Mothers' Club Award, presented annually to the senior boy who has demonstrated the most academic improvement from freshman to senior year.
  • Andre'L Stevenson '19 was the recipient of The Monsignor Henry E. Flanagan Award, presented each year to the female student who has improved the most academically from freshman to senior year.

The graduates of the Class of 2018 include: Natasha Mae Angel, Kayla Jocelyn Beauvais, Justin Joseph Bebarski, Jayden R. Belton, Domenic John Bernard, James Anthony Bilsky, Joseph A. Bonvicini, Amy Bosques-Figueroa, Benjamin Xavier Bowler, Galvin Leigh Brayton, Allie Brown, Austin Michael Brown, Hannah Elizabeth Brown, Qaron Brown, Olivia Rae Burns, Kiara Marie-Amaya Buscaino, Madison Liv Bushka, Nyomie Butler, Victoria Ann Cammarata, Marie Allysa L. Cayabyab, Kristina Chartier, Benson Chen, Genghong Chen, Yuxuan Chen, Gabrielle Alexa Cherubino, Lingxiao Cui, Brooke Cyr, Emma Elizabeth D'Ambruoso, Anthony E. Daponte, Carley Alyssa DeFoe, David P. Desaulniers, Meghan Elaine Diorio, Nathaniel Mark Donofrio, Connor Desmond Dunn, Mitchell Joseph Duyck, Julia Theresa Dzinski , McKenna Ashlyn Ellsworth, Miguel Esteves, Jr., Gaeley Etienne, Corey Mark Fappiano, Julia Lauren Flynn, Alexander Walden Ford, Christopher Daly Ford, Jayden Frageau, Nadia Aryelle French-Graham, Gabriella Nicole Generali, Alexis M. Geter, Mary Elizabeth Gillette, Gabriel John Giroux, Connor Christopher Goggin, John Edward Goggin, Vincent Thomas Graziano, Jr., John W. Greene, William Thomas Greene III, Elvira Joseline Guerrero, Jeremy Daniel Hamel, Lauren Elizabeth Hamilton, D'Asia Chandani Hargrove, Owen Gregory Hernandez, Bryanna A. Hooker, Julia Rose Joyce, Matthew Joseph Judson, Anne Olivia Kinsella, James Robert Lanese, Zachary Armour Lerner, Jenny Lin, Miduo Liu, Ziyuan Rebecca Liu, Jared Louis Longo, Diana G. Lower, Nicole Emperatriz Madrid, Jacob Dylan Mahler, Dante J. Malaspina, Camilla Toledo Marzella, Samuel Benjamin Mason, Zorri Lynn McCray, Megan Mary McHale, Jennifer Marie Mejias, Molly Margaret Montville, Thomas Francis Moran V, Kyle R. Moser, Morgan Elizabeth Murray, Valerie Lauren Nobrega, Madeline F. O'Connor, Adalisse Padilla, Sage Domonique Parker, Brian William Parzyck, Colleen Ann Pelletier, Elise Nicole Pelletier, Camille Rose Perron, Nicholas Joseph Pietrorazio, Derreck Nevell Pruden, Jr., Lauren Judith Raad, Justin Ramos, Sara Kathryn Razza, Jordan Ashley Richard, Jack Robert Schiavone, Aaron Selenica, Wyatt E. Shea-Levandoski, Gerti Shoto, Andre Stevenson, Andre'L. Stevenson, Jasmine Nicole Thorpe, Thomas Albert, Edward Thorpe, John James Tucker, Ruotong Claire Wang, Alessandro M. Ward, Ja'Lin Tajshe Waters, Chase Robert Wheeler, Fiona Mandalina Xhafi, Lin Xu , Ferris You, Kingsten Thomas Zenick, Ange Zhao, Zelong Zheng, Jake Anthony Zinno & Timothy Norman Zupkus