News Post

Holy Cross Student Theatre to Present A Flea in Her Ear

The Holy Cross Student Theatre (HCST) announces the classic French farce, A Flea in Her Ear by George Feydeau, as its first production for the 2017-2018 school year. Performances run at Holy Cross High School (HCHS) on 587 Oronoke Road on December 1st & 2nd at 7:00p.m. and December 3rd at 2:00p.m. Tickets are $8.00 and can be purchased at the door or by calling HCHS at 203.757.9248. Seniors will be admitted free for the Sunday, December 3rd matinee only. The production is under the direction of long-time HCST director and teacher, Paul Whealon. HCHS English Teacher Lori Conetta is the Assistant Director.

A Flea in Her Ear combines the elements of mistaken identity, marital misunderstanding and door-slamming comedy to present a story that is barely possible to believe.

Madame Chandebise (Meghan Booth '18) mistakenly believes that her husband Victor Emmanuel (Jacob Gannon '18) has taken up with another woman.With her friend Lucienne (Galvin Brayton '19), she plots to lure him into an assignation where she can catch him red-handed.Her plan goes wildly wrong when the wrong person shows for the assignation, when her friend's husband comes looking for the man who is attempting to entice Lucienne, and the hotel where they meet is full of lovers and confusion.The misunderstanding is only settled at the very end in typical French style with the couples all reunited and happy.

"A part of the Student Theatre philosophy is that members of the cast and crew are participating as a supplement to their in-class learning," said Whealon. "Student Theatre offers the individual student an opportunity to grow and develop those skills that are present in other parts of the curriculum.They get to experience drama in all its forms. A Flea in Her Ear provided the opportunity to play with character and plot confusions; it offers a lesson in comic timing and allows the crew to attempt a variety of new and challenging skills."

The HCST cast consists of: Jacob Gannon '18, Meghan Booth '18, Nick Pietrarazio '19, Michael Perkins '18, John Vito '18, Galvin Brayton '19, Christina Finkenzeller '18, Jessica Sanchez '18, Billy D'Avino '20, Andrew Russo '20, Tanner Linhard '21, Casuarina Arute '20, Jack Boushie '20, Brandon White '18, Grace Parenti '18, Christina Failla '21, Eileen Xue '20 & Jenna Hulstrunk '21.