News Post

Inductees Announced for Holy Cross High School's 2017 Crusader Hall of Honor

Holy Cross High School will induct nine of its' most beloved school members into the Crusader Hall of Honor on Thursday, November 30, 2017 at La Bella Vista at 6:00pm. Alumni, teachers, administrators and friends are recognized in this prestigious group for their achievements and contributions to Holy Cross and/or their local communities. Tickets are $60.00 and can be purchased by calling 203.574.5422 ext. 264, by emailing MIke Phelan, Director of Alumni Relations & Special Events at or by registering online at

The Crusader Hall of Honor is broken down by these distinguished awards:

The Crusader Award, honoring an alumnus/a who distinguished himself/herself during his/her time at Holy Cross

  • Recipients: Patricia Conlan '89, Head Softball Coach, Georgetown University (Fairfax, VA) & Fran Marrello '72, PGA Golf Pro, Canaan CC (Plymouth, CT)

The Saint Andre Bessette Award, honoring an alumnus/a who distinguished himself/herself in life after high school

  • Recipients: Salvatore Agati '75, Judge, Waterbury Superior Court in Connecticut (Watertown, CT) & David Martin '83, Fire Chief, City of Waterbury (Waterbury, CT)

The Blessed Father Basil Moreau Award, honoring a coach, teacher, administrator or staff member for their stand-out, outstanding service to Holy Cross

  • Recipients: Brother James Kane C.S.C., Retired Faculty/Coach, Holy Cross High School (Notre Dame, IN), Sister Denise Conway CND, Retired Administrator, Holy Cross High School (Waterbury, CT), Joseph Jacovino, Jr., Retired Faculty/Music Director (Middlebury, CT) & Ed Generali, Retired Director of Guidance/Head Basketball Coach, Holy Cross High School (Westerly, RI)

The Saint Marguerite Bourgeoys Award, honoring the contributions of our loyal friends of Holy Cross

  • Recipient: Kevin McSherry '75, Attorney at Law (Naugatuck, CT)

Other accomplishments and recognitions will be celebrated at this event:

  • Long-time faculty members and recent retirees, Rita McCarthy, Paul Whealon and Ed Generali, will be celebrated for their many years of service.
  • Science teacher, Chris Lacilla, will be honored as Holy Cross's Educator of the Year.
  • Tom DiPietro '79 will receive The Father Francis Grogan Service Award, honoring an individual, from our school community for their loyal and dedicated service to Holy Cross.
  • Holy Cross's Class S Softball & Baseball State Championship Teams will be recognized for their achievements made in the 2017 spring sports season.

"The accomplishments of our inductees are a part of the legacy and tradition of Holy Cross High School," said Brother William Zaydak, C.S.C., Provincial, Congregation of Holy Cross, Moreau Province at last year's Crusader Hall of Honor ceremony. "What they have accomplished in the past is now an integral part of the present....On behalf of the Congregation of Holy Cross and the Brothers of Holy Cross, we thank you, the inductees, for being co-workers and co-ministers with all of us. For this, we are extremely grateful for your time, dedication and heartfelt passion for Holy Cross."