News Post

Students Support the Annual Digs for Diapers

Students came out to support the Annual Digs for Diapers Volleyball Tournament, sponsored by the National Honor Society. The entrance fee to the event was a box diapers or wipes. Approximately 1700 diapers and 2500 wipes were collected in addition to a box of miscellaneous baby items including bottles, lotion, rash creams and wash cloths. Donated items went to Greater Waterbury Catholic Charities Diaper Bank.

This event originally started eleven years ago as the Benefit Volleyball Tournament. In the past, items such as clothing and coloring books were collected and given to local charities. "For the past eight years, we have specifically collected diapers," said Caroline Flaminio '79, National Honor Society Moderator. "There was a need, and we have continued to collect those ever since."

This year, Post University contributed significantly to the tournament. "A few weeks ago, Holy Cross hosted a guest speaker for Post," said Mrs. Flaminio. "Some of their students needed to do some community service. They had to bring in diapers and wipes as the entrance fee to their event. We are very thankful for what they donated to this cause."

Several members of the National Honor Society spearheaded this effort including seniors, Kiley Harnish, Adriana Perugini, Solomina Darko, Wenting Zheng, Trey Denardo, Micaela Flaherty, Aizlyn Zupkus, Elena Tormo, Kylee McIntosh, Juliana Amaral, Meghan Booth and Maddie Smith. Maia Regan helped officiate the volleyball game with Jerry Ciarleglio '72, Director of Athletics.

"The National Honor Society students did a great job in organizing this Holy Cross tradition," said Mrs. Flaminio. "Everything ran very smoothly."

Fifty-five students made up seven volleyball teams this year. Fifteen additional students ran the event. The Spike Tysons won the tournament. Team members include: Will Greene '19, Vin Graziano '19, Jeremy Hamel '19, Kyle Moser '19, Jack Schiavone '19 and Alex Ward '19. The Notorious D.I.G. came in second place. Members include: Will Marshall '18, Will Guglielmo '18, Dylan McGovern '18, Clifton Hodak '18, Tito Nieves '18, Zyair Rountree '18, Manny Diorio '18, RJ Blanco '18, Wyatt Brennan '18, Mike Mencio '18, Tim Zupkus '18 and Elizabeth Diorio '20.